Emerging composers from around the world gather every other year to engage in a community of creativity and collaboration

Robert Kyr, Philip H. Knight Professor of Music at the University of Oregon, is program director. Components include numerous concerts of vocal and instrumental works created by symposium participants, as well as workshops and focal groups with esteemed composers- and artists-in-residence.

For the summer 2014 symposium, the composer-in-residence will be Chen Yi, and the artists-in-residence will be Craig Hella Johnson (choral conductor and mentor), Duo Damiana (Molly Barth, flute, and Dieter Hennings, guitar), and the Fear No Music Ensemble. In the past, composers-in-residence have included George Crumb, Arvo Pärt, Krzysztof Penderecki, Lou Harrison, Tan Dun, Sven David Sandstrom, and R. Murray Schafer.

The 2014 symposium will celebrate creativity and innovation through the “New Soundings” concert series, which will include more than 30 premieres by emerging composers performed by our artists-in-residence and the American Creators Ensemble (ACE), which is comprised of composer/performers and performers who are symposium participants.

For further details, please visit the symposium website (iwagemusic.com).

Upcoming Events

Click on individual event links to find program notes, translations, and other information.

16 Nov
Trio con Brio Copenhagen

Beall Concert Hall

25 Jan
Shai Wosner, piano

Beall Concert Hall

15 Feb
Stefan Jackiw, violin

Beall Concert Hall